On June 21, 2016 the Willington Scholarship Foundation Dollars for Scholars organization awarded 21 scholarships totaling $35,000 to 20 Willington students who recently graduated from high school.  The awards reception was held at the Willington Public Library in front of a packed house filled with the recipients, their proud family members, donors and presenters of awards, and WSFDFS Board members.

WSFDFS thanks every donor who helped to make the scholarships possible!   The largest portion of the donations came from Willington residents, with many local businesses and organizations contributing as well.   In addition, the WSFDFS received grants from two larger charitable organizations-the Jeffrey P. Ossen Foundation and Scholarship America-to create a matching fund program.  Three area businesses responded to the program and created named scholarships, First Niagara Bank, Mycoscience, Inc., and Willington Pizza House.   Five scholarships were given in memory of former Willington residents: Thomas Borovicka, Eleanor DuPilka, Harvey and Pauline Morris, Chris Emond and Robert G. Ryder.  Two school-related organizations also gave awards: Willington PTA and Friends of Hall School Music and Drama.  Of special note, the Corporal Henry Toberman VFW Post 938 and Auxiliary made an extremely generous donation this year, to be portioned out in scholarships over the next twelve years.

The awards reception is a culmination of the year-long efforts of the WFSDFS Board of Directors.  These volunteers meet monthly to write grants, prepare appeal mailings, plan and publicize the supportive events, make decisions regarding investments, prepare awards, contact the high schools and eligible students, maintain the WSFDFS website, consult with Scholarship America/Dollars For Scholars, correspond with donors of named awards, and finally in June they get to meet with the recipients face-to-face and award the scholarships!

The present Board of Directors includes officers Chairman Dave Gabree, Co-Chair Chopeta Lyons, Secretary and Publicity Chair Leslie Letendre, Awards Chair Jean Woods, Investment Chair Judy Andersen, and members Jenny Arpin, Linda Cooper, Ron Growney, Robert Jellen, Heather Kelly, Paula King, Mary Pat Maloney, Judith Marco, Laura Rodriguez, Theresa Salisbury and Laurie Tyler.


New members and donors are welcome at any time!  Contact us via email at lsrod@charter.net, or write to PO Box 194, Willington, CT  06279.